What’s in my eLearning Toolbox?

I’ve been an instructional designer for about 10 years.  I’ve always been a bit hesitant to share my “trade secret”, but after 1o years I realize that’s just silly.  So I decided to start this blog for two reasons, (1) to share my knowledge, and (2) to create a sort of online portfolio others can access.

So a little about myself.  I’ve been an instructional designer for 10 years, 5 years into my career I decided to get a Masters degree in Instructional Design.  Up until this point, I didn’t really consider myself an instructional designers, but a designer  with project management skills who could do some cool stuff with lesson plans that had been developed by others.

Over the years I’ve gathered an arsenal of software skills in my toolbox.  I’ll share the ones that I use for every project I’ve ever worked on and will continue to use.  I’ll also share some that I’ve tried and didn’t really find that they fit my needs.

The List

Articulate

Engage

Quizzmaker

Adobe Captivate

Camtasia

Snag-it

Photoshop

PowerPoint

Keynote (Apple)

Garageband (Apple)

Audacity

Alice

Scratch

Inkscape

Artrage

Freemind

Scribus


These are by far my favorite tools. Now I promised to list others I’ve tried but didn’t really fit my needs.

  • FlashForm
  • PointeCast
  • Qarbon
  • Udutu

These are also great tools but didn’t provide me with the specific features I was looking for.  You should check them out if you are in the market for elearning tools.

I encourage you to find software you are comfortable using and where you can be the most creative.  You may not use all the software I have listed here, this is just a list of what is in my eLearning Toolbox.  I’d love to hear what you have in your arsenal.

2 thoughts on “What’s in my eLearning Toolbox?

  1. Thank you for sharing your tools! Recently I’ve been looking into Captivate to use as an elearning tool for webinars and job aids however there is a lot of talk around Lectora and it being the better alternative. Do you have any experience in utilizing Lectora?

    Like

    • Hi Victoria;

      I don’t have experience with Lectora. I understand that they market themselves as a 5 in 1 tool with screen capture, screen video capture, audio editor, video editor and image editor. I think that a problem that some of these tools encounter is in limitations. If there is anyone out there that is currently using Lectora, I’d love to hear your reviews.

      As for Captivate, what is your primary goal? You states yo are looking to use it for webinars, can you elaborate? I think it’s a great tool. You have to find what works for you and really master it.

      Myra

      Like

Leave a Reply

