Instructional Designer to Project Manager

I started this blog as a way to share a bit of what I’ve explored in the realm of rapid e-learning development.  Funny things happen when you are pulled in different directions.  I haven’t been able to write a post for my blog. Yikes!

Over the past two months since starting the blog, I’ve been busy developing training for multiple projects.  My major project include:

  1. developing HIPAA refresher training for employees in a non-healthcare enviornment
  2. creating a live training session on a new product my corporation is implementing called, “Ektron”, a content management system and turn about 30 non-web savvy people in to webmasters.
  3. developing WBT for the Ektron product
  4. developing and facilitating Lotus Notes 8 training for a product upgrade which has been customized to the 9s.
  5. organizing a “Capital Budget” training program for in-house project managers and business solutions analyst.

Needless to say, I’ve been busy.  People tend to be very curious about what I do.  Many times, I’m expected to just know a system even when I’ve never laid eyes let a long hands on it.  Part of my job involves learning completely new systems in a short period of time and becoming my own subject matter expert.  I rely heavily on the application administrators to answer my questions and provide me with needed information.

The Ektron project is a great example of a scenario where the product is as new to me as it is to the entire company.  My mission was to become an SME quick!  I tend to immerse myself in the product.  I chunk my learning down and develop training based on “what you need to know to get your job done”.  This approach has been very successful for me.

Once I figure out What you need to know, I begin working on ways to ensure you get the information you need.  I love me a good webinar and they are a great way to introduce a new application and run demos.  I then work on developing training based on my client’s overall goals and needs.  I’m the one you can rely on to give you what you need and not what you want.

As an instructional designer, my work doesn’t always involve rapid elearning development.  It does involve live training development and facilitation.  This requires some basic business analyst and project management skills.  No you don’t need to take a formal course you just need to learn enough to make your life a bit easier.  Things like eliciting requirements, doing a feasibility study and developing a project schedule with a work breakdown structure will make you look like a total rock star.

One thing that I’ve learned is that although a client may request training development doesn’t mean that they need it.  Many times, the vendor will have training available and offered as part of the software purchase.  Why re-invent the wheel.  Many times, training is viewed as a training solver when in reality it is the process that needs to be fixed.  In this instance, my job is to help in organizational change.

Develop customer confidence – under-promise and over-deliver that’s my motto.

Leave a Reply

