Augmented Reality in the Learning Space

If you’re still catching up on the learning trends for 2017, let me bring you up to speed – Augmented Reality (AR) and Virtual Reality (VR)  are gaining waves. This post isn’t a traditional post – today I’m going to share what I’ve been working on over the past few months and how AR is gaining momentum in the learning space.

In my previous post, I shared the awesomeness of augmented reality (AR) and how to use it in learning.  In October, I published a video tutorial that walks you through the steps of making your own AR projects using Layar.com.

I was fortunate enough to attend the eLearing  Guild’s DevLearn 2016 Conference, where I shared how I integrated the use of AR into my client’s ecosystem during a Hyperdrive session – that was a blast.

As we move into another year, I continue to share my experience with AR, in hopes that more and more learning professionals will adopt its use in their learning solutions. So, in January, I presented a webinar on Creating Sticky Learning with Low-Costs AR Solutions where I shared some best practices and a demo walk-through similar to the video above.  This particular webinar received so good attention and I had an influx of questions during and after the webinar. I was asked to write a follow-up post and answer some of the more burning questions that were arriving – you can view that post here.

My experience with AR is still evolving and I’ve made a move from traditional web-based tools,  like Layar, Aurasma, Zapworks, etc. to SDK toolkits that allow me a bit more flexibility. I hope to share my experience working with these in the future. However, I have developed some best practices for myself thought I would share with you, so here it is, (by the way, this image is a Layar target that will remain active until March – so download the Layar app to get the full experience).

slide9

One thought on “Augmented Reality in the Learning Space

Leave a Reply

